Butler Receives 2021-2022 Innovation of the Year Award | Butler Community College

Butler Receives 2021-2022 Innovation of the Year Award

League for Innovation Logo
Published: Monday, May 9th, 2022

League for Innovation announces national award winners

Butler Community College is a 2021-2022 Innovation of the Year award recipient recently announced by The League for Innovation in the Community College. Butler shares the designation with 31 other community and technical colleges across the country. The only other Kansas institution listed is Johnson County Community College.  

Adobe Innovation Initiative

Butler is recognized for its Adobe Creative Campus initiative and its dedication to preparing students to not only survive but thrive in a digital economy. Last fall, Butler was officially recognized by Adobe as Kansas’s first and only Adobe Creative Campus, making the college only the 50th institution in the world to be designated as such. The Adobe Initiative gives students and employees free access to more than 60 Adobe assets. To date, more than 80 percent of the college's licenses have been utilized.

“We’re hitting on two-points with this,” said Dr. Tom Nevill, vice president of Academics for Butler. “We’re providing direct cost-savings for students who require these tools in their academic class or major, and it also offers all other students easy and free access to the technology, enabling them to explore and learn critical digital skills which will undoubtedly benefit them in the workforce.”    

The 2021-2022 award recipients will be officially recognized during the 2023 League for Innovation Conference. The League for Innovation in the Community College was founded in 1968 and is an international nonprofit organization whose mission is to cultivate innovation in the community college environment. The League’s Innovation of the Year Awards, established more than 35 years ago, recognize significant innovations at community and technical colleges.  

Read more about the League’s 2021-2022 Innovation Award


Read more about Butler Community College and Johnson County Community College’s American Culinary Federation (ACF) partnership