2014 Hubbard Award of Excellence Winner | Butler Community College

2014 Hubbard Award of Excellence Winner

Published: Tuesday, May 20th, 2014

2014 Hubbard Award of Excellence Winner

The R.D. and Joan Dale Hubbard Foundation and Butler Community College are proud to announce that the amount of scholarship money given to the Hubbard Award of Excellence winner has significantly increased to $14,000.


A Butler tradition since 1985, the prestigious Hubbard Award of Excellence is awarded to a Butler student who is nominated by faculty or staff for well-deserved recognition regarding their academic excellence and involvement in campus and community activities. The winner receives a scholarship for four semesters to the institution of their choice after graduating from Butler Community College.


“The Hubbard Award of Excellence personifies quality and superiority. We are eternally grateful to the Hubbard Foundation and Mr. R.D. Hubbard in particular for investing in our most prestigious transfer scholarship.” Vice President of Advancement Stacy Cofer said.


This year’s recipient is Susan Harris, a student who was selected for the clarity she exudes when discussing her future plans and the obstacles she has overcome as a single mother and non-traditional student. Harris plans to transfer either to Wichita State University or Newman University upon her degree completion at Butler.


“My future is bright because these people and their organizations believed in me,” Harris said. “Sometimes it just takes one person to believe in you enough to get you started.”


In 1985, Butler Community College alumnus R.D. Hubbard (’56) and his wife Joan Dale dedicated the scholarship fund to recognize and encourage academic excellence at Butler. Their Foundation has adopted an entrepreneurial approach to philanthropy that reflects their spirit. Today their primary business interests include a wide range of investments such as land, casinos, and racehorses.


Butler appreciates the support of the faculty and staff who nominate the students who exemplify this prestigious award and is grateful for R.D. and Joan Dale Hubbard’s visionary support of student success.