APPLY GIVE

Diversity & Inclusion

Inclusion Statement

The Butler Community College Board of Trustees formally adopted an “Inclusion Statement” to support and emphasize the belief that we value human differences. Our learning and working world is much richer when our College cares for and embraces students’ and employees’ diverse backgrounds, beliefs, perspectives, and experiences. As approved, our “Inclusion Statement” says:

In support of its institutional values, Butler Community College nurtures diversity and inclusion through the practice of Cultural Competency, an ever-evolving concept that recognizes, supports, and embraces the understanding of human difference. Through culturally competent behaviors, attitudes, instruction, and policies, Butler promotes a diverse educational experience, fosters inclusivity to ensure student success, and contributes to the vitality of the institution and the communities it serves.

In support of our institutional values of Quality, Integrity, Caring, and Service, Butler Community College will advocate for the dignity of all members of our Butler Family. While we are committed to the open exchange of ideas, alternative points of view, conversations about the state of politics and meaning in our global world, Butler will not tolerate harassing conduct or comments based on race, religion, color, national origin, ancestry, age, gender, disability, gender identity, or sexual orientation. Let’s all promote civility and respect for free speech and academic freedom in light of one of the most challenging national elections in our country’s history and reject any statements or gestures of hate or harassment. 

Should any individual feel threatened by another individual or need support, Butler Community College has resources available which are listed below. As a Butler Family, we are committed to each individual’s success and to diversity and inclusion which create a supportive, respectful, caring, and welcoming environment. 

If you need assistance in any way, please contact anyone of the following:

Dr. Jessica Ohman, Acting Vice President of Student Services, Associate Vice President of Student Services
johman@butlercc.edu 316.322.3231

Sherri Conard, Director of First-Year Experience and Title IX Coordinator
sconard@butlercc.edu 316.218.6737 

Andrea Weiss, Coordinator of Student Development
Aweiss2@butlercc.edu 316.322.3353

Teressa Eastman, Director of Disability Services, ADA Compliance Office
teastman@butlercc.edu 316.322.3321

Nancy Hamm, College Counselor
Nhamm2@butlercc.edu 316.322.3162

Jake Kenney, Director of Public Safety
jkenney2@butlercc.edu 316.321.7657 or 911

Lori Winningham, Vice President of Academics
lwinning@butlercc.edu 316.322.3110

Dr. Kim Krull, President
kkrull@butlercc.edu 316.322.3100