Butler Theatre Department Announces 30th Annual Spelvin Award Winners | Butler Community College

Banner Maintenance 6/2 - 6/3

Please note that Banner will be unavailable from 7 PM Friday, June 2nd through 7 PM Saturday, June 3rd due to scheduled maintenance.

Butler Theatre Department Announces 30th Annual Spelvin Award Winners

Published: Monday, June 1st, 2015

Butler Community College Theatre Department honored participants in its 2014-2015 season May 14 at the 30th annual Spelvin Awards ceremony.

The evening was hosted by Michele Banks of El Dorado. Banks welcomed more than 70 attendees made up of students, their friends and family, faculty and staff.
The Spelvin Awards began in 1985 with three primary functions- to celebrate the concluding theatre season, to acknowledge outstanding work performed and demonstrated during the season, and to allow theatre patrons a voice regarding the season. Over its 30-year history, the Spelvin Awards have honored, such former students as, university dance instructor Jennifer Carra, Los Angeles-based actor Stacey Hinnen (Criminal Minds, NCIS, Modern Family), Scott McPhail (Paramount Pictures), Los Angeles-based actor Emily Osbourne (Scandal), and New York-based actor Gabe Templin.
Below is a list of award winners by hometown:


Tad Gilbert for Best Running Crew (Urinetown: The Musical) and for Best Stage Manager (Urinetown: The Musical) and for Best Male Newcomer



Ari Chandler for Best Actress (Hope Cladwell in Urinetown: the Musical)


El Dorado

Tanner Price for Best Cameo Actor (Louis Demontreaux in Angels Charge)



Tarah Pearson for Best Cameo Actress (Annie in Angels Charge)



Hallie Cook for Best Stage Manager Non-Theatrical Production (Vocal Music Concert: Camera!)



Jay Dee Schafers for Best Cameo Actress (Patsy in Band Together)


St. John

Andrew Meaders for Best Cameo Actor (Old Man Strong in Urinetown: The Musical)


St Louis

Briana Keene for Best Cameo Actress (Kelly in Band Together)


Valley Center

Emily Tracy for Best Technician and for Best Running Crew (Urinetown: The Musical) and for Best Female Newcomer



Brandon McKinney for Best Supporting Actor (Calvin Coolidge, Jr. in Angels Charge)

Haylee Couey for Best Supporting Actress (Alice Roosevelt in Angels Charge)

Kevin Norfleet for Best Actor (John Coolidge in Angels Charge)

Nikiya Green for Best Stage Manager (Urinetown: The Musical)

Tyler Huffman for Best Running Crew (Urinetown: The Musical)


Emily Tracy of Valley Center received the Greg Bales Award, an award voted on by the members of Delta Psi Omega, the theatre honor society. The cast of Angels Charge took home the honor of Best Acting Ensemble.
Retiring Butler Fine Arts and Communication Administrative Assistant Carol Renfro received the L.W. Nixon Award from Lead Theatre Instructor Bob Peterson. The L.W. Nixon awards honors outstanding service to the Butler Theatre Department over a number of years.
The Butler Theatre Department produces four productions each year and offers full tuition and book scholarships to qualifying students in both performance and technical theatre. Interested students should contact Bob Peterson, bpeterson@butlercc.edu.