Butler Recognizes Top Students at Honors and Awards Recognition Ceremony | Butler Community College

Planned System Upgrades

Due to planned system upgrades, Banner will be unavailable starting Friday night and will last until Sunday night.

Butler Recognizes Top Students at Honors and Awards Recognition Ceremony

Bob Peterson and HUEY Award winner Khaliyah Registe.
Published: Wednesday, May 17th, 2023

Order of the Gold and Order of the Purple Designations Conferred Prior to Commencement

Over 165 students were celebrated at Butler Community College’s 75th Honors and Awards Recognition Ceremony on Friday, May 12. Individual awards were handed out, and students officially received the designation of either Order of the Gold or Order of the Purple at the event, which first started in 1948.

“You all are joining a really elite group of Butler scholars,” said Dr. Kim Krull, Butler Community College President. “We’re excited to recognize and celebrate all you’ve accomplished.”

Graduates with a 3.75 or higher GPA earned placement in the Order of the Purple; graduates with a 4.0 GPA earned placement in the Order of the Gold. Students received recognition based on their cumulative GPA, including institutional and transfer credits.

“Today we gather to celebrate your achievements,” said Dr. Tom Nevill, Vice President of Academics. “Your hard work, your dedication and your commitment have led you to this momentous occasion. It is an honor to stand before you today. Not only is this a culmination of your experience here at Butler, but it’s also a reminder of how much each of you have taught us along the way.”

The students who received individual awards were as follows:

Khaliyah Registe received the HUEY (Humankind Understands Educating Youth) Award.  The award was established in 1989 in memory of Gregory A. Bales (1965 – 89). It is given to an Order of the Purple graduate who possesses high standards for academic and extra-curricular activities.

Joshua Kampe received the Frank H. Cron History Award. This award was established in 1982 and is given to a student earning an Associate of Science or an Associate of Arts degree in history who shows high standards of civic pride and American patriotism.

Heather Burrow received the Crossland Family Presidential Scholarship. This scholarship was founded in 2019 by the Crossland Construction Company and the Crossland family. The company and family focus on education, philanthropy and supporting career advancement.

Malia Iseman received the David and Shirley Longfellow BEST Scholarship. This scholarship was founded in 2019 by David and Shirley Longfellow to support an aspiring teacher to continue their studies at Emporia State University.

Sarah Shonkwiler received the Fran Jabara Presidential Business Scholarship. This scholarship was awarded for the first time this year, and goes to a graduating sophomore who plans to study business at Wichita State University.

Lily Garrett received the Helen Teter Zebold Science Award. The scholarship was founded in 1984 and is given to a student committed to earning a bachelor’s degree in science, math or engineering.

McKenna Garman received the Winnie L. Broers Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded by the Butler Foundation and goes to a graduating sophomore to attend the University of Kansas or Kansas State University for four semesters.

In all, students received a combined total of $15,750 in scholarships.