Butler Community College holds graduation exercises for 2023-2024 school year | Butler Community College

Butler Community College holds graduation exercises for 2023-2024 school year

Female graduate in purple gown receives award from man in gray suit jacket.
Hubbard Award of Excellence Winner Haley Mouser accepts the award from Butler Foundation Board of Directors President Evan Funk on May 10, 2024. (Photo Credit: Rodney Dimick)
Published: Friday, May 17th, 2024

76th Honors and Awards Recognition, 97th Commencement ceremonies took place May 10.

Butler Community College celebrated graduation exercises for the Class of 2024 on Friday, May 10. Events included the 76th Annual Honors and Awards Recognition Ceremony, held in the R.D. Hubbard Welcome Center’s Clifford/Stone Room, and the 97th Annual Commencement Ceremony, held at the BG Products Veterans Sports Complex in El Dorado.

The Class of 2024 boasted more than 600 graduates, including 31 students who earned their Kansas State High School Diploma through Butler, and nearly $50,000 in scholarship funds was awarded between both events.

President Dr. Kim Krull spoke at the afternoon Honors and Awards ceremony of the satisfaction all Butler graduates should have. “You all can be very proud that you are graduates of a college with a 97-year history of outstanding faculty, dedicated administrators, and tremendous community and donor support,” said Krull.

Honors and Awards also saw candidates for Order of the Purple and Order of the Gold recognized. To receive an Order of the Purple designation, students must earn a GPA of 3.75 or higher, while Order of the Gold recipients must attain a 4.0 GPA.

Each year, the Butler Community College Education Association’s Master Teacher award winner serves as keynote speaker at Honors and Awards. This year’s Master Teacher, Department Chair for Accounting, Business Administration and Data Analytics Janice Akao, praised students for what she called their remarkable achievement.

“I stand before you with immense pride and admiration as we gather to celebrate your outstanding academic success,” Akao said. “Each and every one of you has proven your dedication, resilience and commitment to excellence by earning a GPA of 3.75 or higher. This is no small feat, and it is truly a testament to your hard work and determination.”

In her final commencement message as President of Butler Community College before her retirement, Krull gave graduates advice on what to do with their education. “Share [it] and its benefits through your work, with your families and as leaders in your community. Continue to learn, grow and be of service to those around you so the benefits of your education will be magnified.”

Commencement scholarship winners:

Haley Mouser of Tenstrike, MN, received the Hubbard Award of Excellence, a $15,000 transfer scholarship established in 1985 which is the highest honor a graduating Butler student can receive. Mouser served as President of Butler CRU, vice president of the Butler chapter of Collegiate Farm Bureau and earned a 4.0 GPA. She plans to attend South Dakota State University, where she will major in Agriculture and Animal Science.

Hubbard Award finalists included Madisen Cieselski of Park City, KS, Carissa Dalquest of Wilsey, KS, Elizabeth Schafer of Owaneco, IL, and Kaden Warner of Hutchinson.

Jocelynn Palacio of Andover received the Butler Community Colleges Board of Trustees award, a $1,000 scholarship given to a student who is a resident of Butler County. Palacio graduated from Butler’s Early College Academy in the Engineering Pathway, receiving her associate degree while also graduating from Andover High School. Jocelynn plans to attend Wichita State University.

Honors and Awards scholarship winners:

Kaden Warner received the Winnie L. Broers Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded by the Butler Foundation to a graduating sophomore to attend the University of Kansas or Kansas State University for four semesters.

Calley Stubbs of Wallace, KS, received the Jim & Susie Edwards Scholarship. Funded by two Butler Community College retirees, this new transfer scholarship recognizes the top sophomore on the livestock judging team.

Makail Sadiq of Bel Aire, KS, received the HUEY (Humankind Understands Educating Youth) Award. The award was established in 1989 in memory of Gregory A. Bales (1965–89). It is given to a distinguished Order of the Purple graduate who possesses high standards for academic and extracurricular activities.

Katie Penner of El Dorado received the Fran Jabara Presidential Business Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to a graduating sophomore to study business at Wichita State University.

Sarah Lewallen of Wichita received the David and Shirley Longfellow BEST Scholarship. This scholarship was founded in 2019 by David and Shirley Longfellow to support an aspiring teacher to continue their studies at Emporia State University.  

Zachary Foes of El Dorado received the Helen Teter Zebold Science Award. The scholarship was founded in 1984 and is given to a student committed to earning a bachelor’s degree in science, math or engineering.

The full list of graduates, including Order of the Purple, Order of the Gold and members of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society, will be available later this month.

To watch either ceremony in full, download the BCTV+ app or click here.