Butler Students Earn Top Awards at Journalism Conference | Butler Community College

Butler Students Earn Top Awards at Journalism Conference

Kansas Collegiate Media Conference
Published: Monday, May 9th, 2016

Butler Community College journalism students earned several recognitions at the annual Kansas Collegiate Media (KCM) awards conference, held in Wichita April 7-8.

KCM is an organization made up of two-year colleges as well as private and public four-year universities in the state. The awards conference was held at the Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview.

The Grizzly Magazine was named the top magazine in the state, earning the All-Kansas Award. The Butler Lantern newspaper received a Silver Medal.

Professor Michael Swan is adviser to the magazine and Professor Amy Chastain is adviser to the newspaper.

Under Co-Editors-in-Chief Justice Bidwell and Hannah Howe, the magazine finished with 10 individual awards.

Students and their respective awards are listed below by hometown:


Elizabeth Moore; second place in illustration (with Bri Torres), honorable mention in Caption Writing (with Kayla Duarte), honorable mention for Feature Photography, honorable mention for Headline Writing

Conway Springs:

Justice Bidwell, named Journalist of the Year for two-year publications in Kansas; first place in News/Event Writing (with Bret Belvill)


Emily Beckman; first place in Feature Writing


Cami Bremyer, third place for Illustration


Bret Belville; first place in News/Event Writing (with Justice Bidwell)

Bri Torres; second place in Illustration (with Elizabeth Moore)


Kayla Duarte, honorable mention in Caption Writing (with Elizabeth Moore)

Darah Howe, second place in Page Design

Hannah Howe, third place for Cover Design

The Lantern Newspaper also won eight individual awards, under Editor-in-Chief Molly Denton and Managing Editor Kristina Chora.


Zac Arnhold, second place for Illustrations

Arkansas City:

Jerian Fullhart, third place in Feature Photography

El Dorado:

Matt Cooper, first place in Review Writing; second place in Editorial Writing; honorable mention in Review Writing; honorable mention in Column Writing

Rose Hill:

Olivia Vest, honorable mention in Copy Editing


Ed Bailey, second place for Sports Photography