Butler Foundation Holds 2019 President's Donor Dinner

Butler Foundation held the 2019 President's Donor Dinner. Butler President Dr. Kimberly Krull and Tom Borrego, executive director of the Foundation, pose with two winners of an award.
Published: Thursday, October 10th, 2019

Seventy donors recognized for new giving level, including Dr. Larry Abraham for a new giving level of $1 million.

EL DORADO, Kan. – Donors were recognized for giving and service at the President’s Donor Dinner held on Oct. 3 at Butler Community College. The event is held annually to show appreciation to donors who have reached a new giving level based on their prior fiscal year giving.

Butler’s president Kim Krull, Ph.D., began the evening by introducing 2019 Hubbard Award of Excellence winner Claudia Hess. Hess was given the honor at commencement in May; a $15,000 transfer scholarship from the Foundation.

“Butler goes beyond just getting an education,” Hess said. “It changed my thinking from trying to survive college to trying to achieve new skill sets and successfully solve new problems every day.”

Hess was a student athlete on the volleyball team and worked as a peer tutor and resident assistant during her two years at Butler.

“To an outsider it looked like I was setting myself up for defeat,” Hess said. “But once you build a strong community, you have people to turn to when you are not as strong. Butler gave me that.”

Athletic Director Todd Carter and Dr. Larry Abraham awarded the Dr. Larry and Judy Abraham GrizzlyBacker of the Year Award to Bill and Teri Rinkenbaugh of Augusta.

Krull; Tom Borrego, executive director of the Foundation; and Forrest Rhodes, Foundation board of directors president; led the recognition portion of the evening.

Foundation Award for Distinguished Service to Butler Community College

Dr. Greg Joyce – El Dorado

Seventy donors were recognized for reaching a new annual giving level, ranging from $500+ to $5,000+. Giving totals are calculated based on the prior fiscal year. Lifetime giving recognition accounts for all donations from a donor since the time they first began giving to the college. These donors are recognized starting at the $10,000 level. Giving levels range from $10,000 to $1 million though there are not donors recognized at every level annually.


Diamond Society ($10,000+)

BlueCross BlueShield of Kansas Foundation – Topeka

Keith and Dona Darlington – San Diego, California

Jim and Rachelle Depew – Wichita

El Dorado Building Systems, Inc. – El Dorado

Sue Erikson – El Dorado

Keith and Rina Frye – El Dorado

Jim and Sally Hargrove – El Dorado

Michael and Teri Monteferrante – Andover

Jeremy and Averie Nelson – Augusta

Jason and Dr. Jessica Ohman – Andover

Rosemary R. Gfeller Estate – El Dorado


Trustee Society – ($50,000+)


Bud Bailey Estate – El Dorado

Bank of America Foundation – Wilmington, Delaware

Betty M. Carlson Estate – El Dorado

Betty and Clyde Hiebert Estate – El Dorado

Kim Krull – El Dorado

Bob and Becky Minard – Leon

Doug and Barb Voth – Edmond, Oklahoma


Cornerstone Society – ($100,000+)

Greg and Helen Joyce – El Dorado

Alan and Nicki Mulally – Mercer Island, Washington

Joe Sundgren Family – El Dorado


Legacy Society ($500,000+)

James and Catherine Buck Charitable Trust – Wichita


Hubbard Society ($1,000,000+)

Dr. Larry Abraham – El Dorado


Sponsors for the event were Bank of America, Commerce Bank, Gravity::Works Architecture, ICI, and INTRUST Bank.