Student publications win awards at collegiate competition | Butler Community College

Banner Maintenance 6/2 - 6/3

Please note that Banner will be unavailable from 7 PM Friday, June 2nd through 7 PM Saturday, June 3rd due to scheduled maintenance.

Student publications win awards at collegiate competition

The Grizzly Magazine staff stand in a group for a photo.
Published: Wednesday, May 13th, 2020

The Butler Lantern, The Grizzly Magazine bring home more than 20 awards

EL DORADO, Kan. – When it comes to collegiate competitions, Butler Community College student publications represent the college each year positively at the state level. 

In years past, students involved in these publications have brought home countless awards after competing against other two- and four-year publications from around the state. Some of the top awards have been given to Butler students and the 2020 year is no different. 

Due to COVID-19, the annual Kansas Collegiate Media Conference in Wichita was canceled, but students from “The Grizzly Magazine” and the Butler Lantern” newspaper were still awarded 22 awards between the two publications. 

This year the Butler Lantern” won Silver overall in the Two-Year Newspaper division, and “The Grizzly Magazine” won Bronze overall in the Magazine-Yearbook division, competing against two- and four-year schools. The editor-in-chief for the “Butler Lantern” was Amanda Smith of Conway Springs, and the co-editors of “The Grizzly Magazine” were Julia Nightengale of Goessel and Kaylee Stout of Valley Center. 

Students were guided to their success by Amy Chastain, the Butler Lantern advisor, and Mike Swan, The Grizzly Magazine advisor. 

Those interested can view the last issue of “The Grizzly Magazine” at:

The following students from the Butler Lantern” won 14 awards: 

  • Amariani Garcia – Wichita Northeast Magnet High School (Wichita, Kansas) 
    • Second Place – Comics/Editorial Cartoons – “Free open journalism attacked from new angle” 
  • Madalynn Wilson – Pratt High School (Pratt, Kansas)

    • Third Place – Feature Photography – “Duo serves up comedic delight” 

  • Rachel McClurg – Maize South High School (Maize, Kanas) 

    • Third Place – Front Page Design 

  • Caelin Bragg – Home School (El Dorado, Kansas) 

    • Third Place – News/Event Writing – “New bill seeks transparency for students, taxpayers” 

    • Second Place – Review Writing – “Players gotta buy’em in Pokemon Masters” 

  • Matthew Will – Wichita Northwest High School (Wichita, Kansas) 

    • Second Place – Social Media Storytelling – “Election update” 

    • Third Place – Sports News Writing – “Bravo drafted in 2019 MLB draft” 

    • Honorable Mention – Review Writing – “NHL takes strides to improve gaming enjoyment” 

    • Honorable Mention – Sports News Writing – “Grizzlies win conference, not done yet” 

  • Cathryne Gonzales – Wichita South High School (Wichita, Kansas) 

    • Third Place – Special Sections, Publications or Innovations – “State Fair” 

  • Amanda Smith – Conway Springs High School (Conway Springs, Kansas) 

    • Second Place – Special Sections, Publications or Innovations – “Earth Day” 

    • Third Place – Sports Feature Writing – “From player to coach, Mortimer keeps ‘trotting’” 

  • Carlie Pracht  Bishop Carroll High School (Wichita, Kansas) 

    • Second Place – Special Sections, Publications or Innovations – “Earth Day” 

  • Hannah Simon – Eureka High School (Eureka, Kansas) 

    • Third Place – Sports Action Photography – “Butler Grizzly offensive player looks to rush” 

The following students from “The Grizzly Magazine” won eight awards: 

  • Jacob Minter – Wichita Northwest High School (Wichita, Kansas) 

    • First Place – Page Design 

    • Second Place – News/Event Photography 

    • Third Place – News/Event Writing 

  • Ethan Neuway – Wichita Northwest High School (Wichita, Kansas) 

    • Second Place – News/Event Photography 

    • Second Place – Page Design 

    • Third Place – News/Event Writing 

    • Honorable Mention – Page Design 

  • Nicolas Quinones – Wichita South High School (Wichita, Kansas) 

    • Third Place – Cover Design 

  • Kaylee Stout – Kapaun Mt. Carmel High School (Valley Center, Kansas) 

    • Third Place – Headlines