Honors & Awards | Graduation Procedures | Butler Community College

Graduation Procedures

Honors & Awards

Order of the Purple Established 1937

The Order of the Purple was established to recognize graduates who were outstanding in scholarship, leadership, service and character. The first group of seven students was inducted into the Order of the Purple in the spring 1937. Over the years, the requirements for this award have changed as standards and practices have changed. Today, to be eligible for this honor, students must have completed 30 hours at Butler and hold a 3.75 or higher total grade point average. Students inducted into Order of the Purple each receive a commemorative medallion to wear at Commencement as a distinctive symbol of their academic achievement.

Order of the Gold Established 1985

In 1985, the Board of Trustees created the Order of the Gold award for students who maintain a 4.0 GPA. Students who have completed 30 hours at Butler and achieved a 4.0 total grade point average honored as Order of the Gold. These recipients will be inducted into Order of the Gold at the Honors Ceremony to take place before Commencement. They will receive a special plaque and commemorative medallion at the Honors Ceremony and may wear the medallion at commencement.

Phi Theta Kappa Established 1918
Butler's Alpha Phi Alpha Chapter Established 1992

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is a National Honors Society serving American institutions that offer Associates degree programs. Its purpose is to recognize and encourage scholarship among Associate degree students. PTK provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate to exchange ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. PTK members are inducted during a special ceremony held each fall and spring semester. At Commencement, PTK members are distinguished by a yellow stole. 

HUEY Award Established 1989

Gregory A. Bales (1965-1989) was the son of Leon and Nancy Bales of Yates Center, Kansas. Before his untimely death, he exemplified the highest standards of a college student. Besides demonstrating outstanding academic achievement, Greg was active in journalism, music and theater. In 1985, he earned an Associate in Arts degree from Butler County Community College. In 1988, he earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from Kansas State University. Greg, nicknamed Huey at Butler for his clean-cut looks and his resemblance to the leader of the musical group Huey Lewis and the News was a Renaissance person. The HUEY Award, Humankind Understands Educating Youth is, in the view of a committee of administrators, faculty and staff, a fitting award memorializing his life. Each year the HUEY Award is given to an Order of the Purple graduate who possesses the same high standards for both academics and extra-curricular activities that Greg possessed.

Winnie L. Broers Scholarship

The Winnie Broers scholarship is awarded annually by the Butler Foundation to an eligible graduating sophomore. The recipient will receive the scholarship for four semesters while attending either Kansas State University or the University of Kansas. This scholarship was established in the early 1980’s from the last will and testament of Winnie L. Broers.

Helen Teter Zebold Science Award Established 1984

Helen Teter (1912-1984) was a pioneer of Butler County and an early rancher of the state. She was one of El Dorado’s leading philanthropists. Few people knew about her works, and that was the way she wanted it. She was a leader in the community, assisting church organizations, young people and those in need. Helen attended Kansas State University where she met Robert Zebold, an agriculture major. They married in 1933 and spent the next twelve years on a cotton plantation in southeastern Arkansas. After World War II, they returned to Butler County to raise livestock and to look after the land she had inherited. Helen loved the Flint Hills and stayed there until her death in 1983. The Helen Teter Zebold Science Award was established in her memory. Each year it is awarded to a graduating sophomore majoring in science, math or engineering. The student must be firmly committed to continued study in that major, and plan to work toward earning a bachelor’s degree.

Frank H. Cron History Established 1982

Frank H. Cron (1868-1963), El Dorado banker, legislator and philanthropist was born in Pennsylvania, came to Kansas at the age of 13, and quickly established himself as one of the “up and coming” young men on the Western frontier. He was a school teacher in Douglass and in Augusta, and was actually named principal of El Dorado High School, but he elected not to accept the position. Instead, he chose a banking position and continued a career in banking throughout the remainder of his life. He was the first president of the Butler County Historical Society. Its present home at 383 East Central was made possible through his generosity. In the view of the Historical Society's Board of Trustees, the Cron Award is a fitting memorial to his life and work. Each year it is awarded to a young person who shares Senator Cron's fascination with history. A graduating sophomore who has completed all required history courses in order to receive an Associate of Science or an Associate of Arts degree in History is eligible for the award. In addition, the student should demonstrate high standards of civic pride and American patriotism for the award to be granted. The recipient will receive a medal of honor and name on a plaque on permanent display in the museum.